Your  Guide To The 7 Chakras  & Their Meaning

The mainstreaming of this topic has generated much knowledge. Several yoga instructors stress these energy centres. Your preferred yoga class may include Anodea Judith's Chakra Balancing on an end table. Chakra-themed clothes, jewellery, fragrances, and beauty products exist.


1. Muladhara

People believe that food, sleep, sex, and self-preservation are the four primal drives that are controlled by Muladhara. Its energy purpose is to help us stay grounded and stable inside.

2. Svadhisthana 

This pelvis houses Svadhisthana (“her own abode”). An orange lotus with six petals symbolises water—fluidity, adaptability, creativity, emotions, sexual energy, and the unconscious. The second chakra regulates emotions and desires to avoid being driven by them.

3. Manipura

At the navel centre lies Manipura (“city of jewels”). It is a crimson triangle facing down or up and represents fire. Strong inner fire (agni) helps us digest food and life events.

4. Anahata

Heart-centered is Anahata (“unstruck”). The classic Anahata symbol is a green six-pointed star with 12 lotus petals. Spirituality claims to contain the infinite, “unstruck” self. Anahata conveys calm, love, and openness as air. You can experience unconditional love with anahata.

5. Vishuddha 

Vishuddha (“to purify”) is around the throat base. The lotus with 16 purple petals often has a blue downward-facing triangle. Vishuddha is related with truth-telling and ether (akasha). Its energy function helps us express ourselves authentically.

6. Ajna

Transparent lotuses with two white petals represent the psyche, conscious and unconscious. Since it is “beyond” the elements, this chakra has no elemental connection. It symbolises intuition, vision, prophecy, imagination, inner knowledge, and self-confidence.

7. Sahasrara

Above the crown is Sahasrara, the “thousand-petaled lotus”. Pink 1,000-petal lotus symbolises pure consciousness. Because it transcends physical components, it is not identified with them. We access divine energy and our best selves. Sahasrara boosts awareness, self-control, and connection.

Also see

6 Effects Of Poor Posture On The Body

Scribbled Underline 2